The Power of Testimony

As many of you know I did not have the most typical faith walk. However, I truly think telling that story can have such a huge affect on people. In fact, I was able to tell my story to about 1,000 people last Sunday and it really was a powerful thing.

I was asked to tell my story at both services of a local church. I, of course, accepted that invitation. I was able to sit on stage with my best friend and previous bible professor and tell my story. Being able to tell people how it feels to be treated as an outsider in the church, to not knowing Jesus anymore, to following Him with all of my being, was incredibly powerful.

I had hoped that by telling my story it might resonate with some one or two people. Maybe they had been through the same thing. Maybe they were guilty of the very things that turn people off of Christianity. Whatever it was I hoped that they could understand where I came from and who I have transformed into.

After the service tons and tons of people came up to us and spoke about how they once felt like an outsider in the church, or that they found God later on in life as well. One woman came up and said that her daughter had suddenly passed away the same week I got baptized and that she had gone through similar things I had. Another woman said that her son had been having a hard time understanding God, but that my story captivated him and helped him see how God really does work through people.

Having that experience definitely changed my life and I hope that it helped change others’ lives as well. People underestimate the power of testimony. Telling your story is so important in helping others understand your relationship with God. I mean the bible is full of testimonies, it is just stories of people’s interactions with the Lord. How will you tell your story?

3 thoughts on “The Power of Testimony

Leave a comment